Some of the newest tactics being used by cybercriminals are the insertion of fake Facebook “like” buttons on compromised web pages. These buttons can look identical to real ones but install malware.

Also, don’t be too quick to click on links claiming to “Enable Dislike Button” on Facebook, as a fast-spreading scam has caused problems for social networking users recently.

Messages claiming to offer the opposite to a like button have been appearing on many Facebook users’ walls:

Like the “Preventing Spam / Verify my account” scam which went before it, the scammers have managed to waltz past Facebook’s security to replace the standard “Share” option with a link labelled “Enable Dislike Button”.

The fact that the “Enable Dislike Button” link does not appear in the main part of the message, but lower down alongside “Link” and “Comment”, is likely to fool some users into believing that it is genuine.

Clicking on the link, however, will not only forward the fake message about the so-called “Fakebook Dislike button” to all of your online friends by posting it to your profile, but also run obfuscated Javascript on your computer.

Filed under: Uncategorized

Like this post? Subscribe to my RSS feed and get loads more!